Cambiaso’s RH Debut

Cambiaso’s RH Debut.

The championship match of the Prince of Wales Trophy took place at the Royal County of Berkshire Polo Club on Saturday May 20. The final between Emlor and RH Polo was of particular interest as it was the debut of Adolfo Cambiaso on Ben Soleimani’s team in the current British season.

The tournament is one of the four most important ones of the English season, showcasing high goal polo. The Prince of Wales Trophy was first played in 1986 and is held under the patronage of His Highness Charles Prince of Wales. The title went to RH after outscoring Emlor 12-10 in an end to end thrilling match. With just a couple of days before the start of the Queen’s Cup the result will be reassuring for the RH Polo team.

Most Valuable Player went to Rodrigo Andrade, the eight goal RH player. The Best Playing Pony went to Señal, played by Emlor’s Guillermo Terrera.

RH: Ben Soleimani (0), Tommy Beresford (4), Adolfo Cambiaso (10), Rodrigo Ribeiro de Andrade (8).
Emlor: James McCarthy (1), Guillermo Terrera (8), Alejandro Muzzio (7), Nacho González (6).

Queen Mother Centenary Trophy.

Saturday’s Queen Mother Centenary Trophy final played on the Queen’s Ground at Guards went to an extra chukka, requiring a golden goal to separate Bardon and Ferne Park.

Bardon dominated the early part of the final against Lord Rothermere’s Ferne Park and were 6-2 up in the third chukka. However they gave away too many penalties in the final two chukkas, giving Ferne Park the chance to get back into the game. The penalties allowed Ferne Park to level the score to 6-6 at the close of the fourth chukka.

The golden goal came from Matias Machado giving Bardon the win and an unbeaten run in the 15-goal La Martina Queen Elizabeth The Queen Mother Centenary Trophy.

Posted in: